29th November 2018

BMW Group Malaysia Unveils Finalists for BMW Shorties 2018.

keyboard_arrow_left Back to News
Ten promising film makers and digital content creators demonstrated their ‘DRIVE’ to secure places as finalists at the 12th installation of Malaysia’s most established and longest-running short film competition.

Kuala Lumpur, 22nd November 2018 – The BMW Shorties, Malaysia’s most prestigious and longest-running short film competition has selected its Top 10 Finalists from a talented pool of aspiring Malaysian film makers and digital content creators. The finalists are also in the running to win BMW Shorties 2018 People’s Choice Award, which will be open to public voting starting from 22nd November to 7th December 2018.

Sashi Ambi, Head of Corporate Communications of BMW Group Malaysia said, “Since its creation, the BMW Shorties has been one of the most successful platforms in Malaysia for aspiring local filmmakers and digital content creators to share their artistic visions on Malaysian-made stories. This year, we are delighted to witness yet another pool of refreshing talent showcasing their passion for the art of film making and the creation of digital content, with our group of finalists representing the finest of such promise and potential.”

Now in its 12th year, the BMW Shorties challenged the film makers and digital content creators with the theme “DRIVE”. To have Drive is to be relentless in achieving a goal. This urge is innate and motivated by more than passion. It takes ambition.

The line-up of judges presiding over this year's competition consists of top names in the local filmmaking industry, namely the BMW Shorties veteran judge and commercial filmmaker, Lina Tan; multiple award-winning filmmaker, Isazaly Mohd Isa; filmmaker and screenwriter, Nadira Ilana; award-winning filmmaker Tan Chui Mui; and rising storyteller and award-winning filmmaker, Quek Shio Chuan.

Lina Tan commented, “I am once again impressed by the sheer breadth and depth of the submissions this year. The film makers engaged with the theme ‘DRIVE’ through such diverse approaches. The BMW Shorties has once again brought out the best in these filmmaking talents, spurring them to push the envelope and realise their creative visions.”

Tan Chui Mui, meanwhile, said, “The heart and human elements are always key things we look for in a short film and this year’s submissions have inspired me in that regard. I look forward to watching more of these talented filmmakers and their works in the future.” Quek Shio Chuan, who is a BMW Shorties alumnus himself, said, “It is encouraging to see such quality and calibre in Malaysia’s current batch of up-and-coming filmmakers. There are indeed strong contenders who show remarkable potential in the handling of the genre and treatment of the theme, which made our job as judges a tough one.”

The BMW Shorties Grand Prize Winner will win a production grant of RM 80,000. Other accolades that will be awarded include Best Director, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Screenplay, Best Cinematography, Best Production Design, Best Editing and Best Sound Design as well as the ever-popular People’s Choice Award.

The BMW Shorties 2018 Top 10 Finalists short films are now available for viewing and voting on the BMW Shorties website HERE. Members of the public are invited to vote for their desired People’s Choice Award winner from 22nd November to 7th December 2018.

The BMW Shorties 2018 Finalists (in no particular order) are:

  • Kampung Aman by Sherwynn Victor and Michael Lourdes
  • Simon & Ah Bou by Vikster Chew Chin Wai
  • Lelaki Yang Dirindui by Ariff Zulkarnain
  • Nautika by Muhammad Fikri Bin Mohd Zamri
  • Colourless by Ananth Subramaniam
  • Block A-2-15 by Won Jun Yap
  • Handbag by Mohd Khairul Anuar
  • Silence by Ng Seow Mun
  • Stranded by Lai Yik Heng
  • Burn by Ng Kwok Yong

The BMW Shorties 2018 Supporting Award nominees (in no particular order) are:

Best Director

  • Colourless by Ananth Subramaniam
  • Block A-2-15 by Won Jun Yap
  • Kampung Aman by Sherwynn Victor and Michael Lourdes
  • Simon & Ah Bou by Vikster Chew Chin Wai
  • Lelaki Yang Dirindui by Ariff Zulkarnain

Best Cinematography

  • Nautika by Benjamin Wong
  • Colourless by JF Chong
  • Simon & Ah Bou by Tan Seng Kiat
  • Kampung Aman by Michael Lourdes
  • Limitless by Chong Boon Yee and Geink Noise

Best Screenplay

  • Kampung Aman by Caston J
  • Simon & Ah Bou by Vikster Chew Chin Wai
  • Block A-2-15 by Won Jun Yap
  • Lelaki Yang Dirindui by Ariff Zulkarnain
  • Colourful by Ridhwan Malik and Khairi Anwar

Best Production Design

  • Block A-2-15 by Won Jun Yap
  • Kampung Aman by Ravindran Krishnan
  • Simon & Ah Bou by Vikster Chew Chin Wai
  • Nautika by Abderrahman Almonzer
  • A Special Night by Fish Lim

Best Sound Design

  • Kampung Aman by Yusof Han
  • Limitless by Kurisu
  • Nautika by Aiman Ariffin
  • Colourless by Chris G

Best Editing

  • Limitless by Kurisu and Foo Wei Jien
  • Kampung Aman by Sherwynn Victor
  • Nautika by Fikri Zamri
  • Block A-2-15 by Won Jun Yap
  • Colourless by Jordan Goh

Best Actor

  • Radhi Khalid in Kampung Aman
  • Tam Yee Swee in Simon & Ah Bou
  • Alang Fadhli in Lelaki Yang Dirindui
  • Lim Yew Beng in Simon & Ah Bou
  • Ray Cheong in Block A-2-15

Best Actress

  • Farah Ahmad in Sayang
  • Atiqah Afina in Colourless
  • Nina Kho in The Parcel
  • Janice Yeoh in Stranded
  • Putri Syahadah Nurjannah in Consent 18

BMW Shorties 2018 award winners will be crowned at the BMW Shorties Film Festival, happening on 15th December 2018 at Tiffin Food Court located at 15, Jalan 13/6, Seksyen 13, 46200 Petaling Jaya, Selangor. For further information, visit the official BMW Shorties website at www.bmwshorties.com.my or the official BMW Shorties Facebook page at www.facebook.com/bmwshorties and Instagram page at www.instagram.com/bmwshorties.